National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners
Michigan's Saari Appointed to Chair NARUC Subcommittee on Pipeline Safety

April 10, 2017

National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Robert F. Powelson has appointed Commissioner Norman Saari of the Michigan Public Service Commission as chairman of the Subcommittee on Pipeline Safety. Saari replaces Illinois Commissioner Sherina Maye Edwards.

"I am grateful for this opportunity to join such an illustrious team at NARUC and state commissions to work on pipeline safety issues. I look forward to serving," said Commissioner Saari.

He was appointed by Governor Rick Snyder to the Michigan Public Service Commission for a term beginning on August 2, 2015, and was appointed by him to a new term on March 17, 2017, which ends July 2, 2019.

Along with the Subcommittee on Pipeline Safety, he serves on NARUC's Committee on Natural Gas, Subcommittee on Nuclear Issues-Waste Disposal, Committee on Infrastructure and the Washington Action Program. Additionally, Commissioner Saari is the board secretary of the Mid-America Regulatory Conference. He was appointed in 2016 to serve on the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration's Liquid Pipeline Advisory Committee, which will make recommendations to help PHMSA develop safety requirements. Commissioner Saari earned a bachelor's degree in journalism from Michigan State University, and served as a public information officer in the Michigan National Guard.

"Commissioner Saari brings ample experience and leadership to his role on this committee. Pipeline safety is a chief concern of state regulators and he will continue our efforts to ensure the safety of the 2.1 million miles of natural gas pipelines under state authority," said President Powelson.

The Subcommittee on Pipeline Safety is part of the Committee on Gas. NARUC's eight standing committees propose resolutions that, if approved by the Board of Directors, set Association policy on congressional, federal, and industry matters. The committees, populated by state public service commissioners, also hold educational sessions and panel discussions on relevant issues to best serve NARUC members. Committee chairs are appointed by the NARUC President for a one-year term and may be reappointed for a maximum of three consecutive terms.

NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.

For more information:

National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC)

1101 Vermont Avenue, NW Suite 200
Washington, District of Columbia
United States, 20005

Regina L. Davis
Tel: 202-898-9382
E-mail: rdavis@naruc.org

Link http://www.electricenergyonline.com/detail_news.php?ID=631524
Most consulted news
Click here to try the new version of Electric Energy Online!